State Code Status: Kansas

Kansas does not have a mandatory statewide code. Please click here to view BCAP’s list of energy code adoptions in Kansas.

Current Commercial Code

2006 IECC, voluntary only
effective 4/10/2007

Current Residential Code

No statewide code; a significant number of jurisdictions have adopted an energy code for residential construction. (See link to list of local adoptions above.)

Climate Zones: 4A, 5A

Code Adoption and Change Process

Code Change Process

The Energy Division at the Kansas Corporation Commission monitors codes adoption across Kansas and conducts an annual survey of selected cities and counties.

Code Change Cycle

Updates to adopted codes are handled by local jurisdictions.

Next Code Update



August 2011 The City of Overland Park issues a public notice that it will begin the process of reviewing the 2012 I-Codes, including the 2012 IECC, for adoption. A draft ordinance is expected in early fall 2011. The local building department anticipates the process to occur over the next several months. Overland Park is the second largest city in the state, and the largest suburb of Kansas City, Missouri.
2009 – 2011 The Energy Efficiency Building Codes Working Group meets seven times to discuss code-related issues.
2007 As recommended by the Kansas Energy Council, the Legislature amended KSA 66-1227 to adopt the 2006 IECC as the applicable standard for new commercial and industrial structures in Kansas. The energy efficiency disclosure statute (KSA 66-1228) was also amended to provide for more timely disclosure of the energy efficiency information for new homes to potential homebuyers, using a quantitative and comparative format that referenced the 2006 IECC. Governor Kathleen Sebelius signed these amendments into law in April 2007.

House Bill No. 2036

Back to top


Preston Miller
Energy Consultant
Energy Division
Kansas Cooperation Commission


Isaac Elnecave
Senior Policy Manager
Midwest Energy Efficiency Alliance (MEEA)

News and Events

BCAP Resources

Helpful Links