Projects > Energy Code Ambassadors Program (ECAP)

BCAP and the International Code Council (ICC) created this initiative to empower existing code professionals so they may develop their familiarity and expertise with energy codes and share their knowledge throughout their jurisdiction and state.

A supportive local infrastructure is crucial to realizing the benefits of energy codes. However, implementation and enforcement efforts are often lacking in many states, and receive disproportionately little attention in the world of building codes. To fulfill this need, BCAP and ICC created an effort to improve enforcement of building energy codes that incorporates direct interaction with trained and experienced code professionals who understand the challenges and constraints that code officials are often faced with.

Through training and open peer-to-peer sharing, ECAP strives to enrich the existing infrastructure to one that encourages the correct and effective implementation of energy codes. ECAP trains and certifies code officials to:

  • Become an expert in energy codes and any provisions made specific to their jurisdictions;
  • Educate local builders, designers, suppliers, and contractors on energy code provisions;
  • Share their knowledge and mentor other code officials on best practices;
  • Represent peer code officials to voice their concerns and perspectives to appropriate state officials; and
  • Build a strong local and state infrastructure for energy code support.

For more information, please contact Maria Ellingson at mellingson@bcapcodes.org or (419) 724-4571.

Idaho

Bear Lake County
Wayne Davidson
blbuilding@dcdi.net
(208) 945-2212, x39

Blaine County
Bill Dyer
bdyer@co.blaine.id.us
(208)788-5573, x1126

Boise
Tim Woodard
twoodard@cityofboise.org
(208) 384-3817

Canyon County
Dan Hunter
dhunter@conyonco.org
(208) 454-6607

Coeur d’Alene
Brandon Voorhees
bvoorhees@cdaid.org
(208) 769-2257

Moscow
Justin Goodwin
jgoodwin@ci.moscow.id.us
(208) 883-7014

Ohio

Cincinnati
Stephanie Johnson
stephanie@finelinesarchitecture.com
(513) 515-7053

Columbus
Robert J. Schutz
rjschutz@columbus.gov
(614) 395-9689

South Euclid
Walter Balester
wbalester@wowway.com
(216) 288-3037

Erie County
Wyatt Simons
Wsimons@eriecohealthohio.org
(419) 626-5623, x219

State of Ohio
Sudhir Jindal
sudhir.jindal@com.ohio.gov
(614) 644-3568

Wood County
Mike Rudey
mrudey@co.wood.oh.us
(419) 354-9190

Oklahoma

Lawton
Russell Philpott
precisebp@gmail.com
(580) 512-9911

Norman
Greg Clark
greg.clark@normanok.gov
(405) 366-5346

Oklahoma City
Curtis Maxwell
cmaxwell@hes-ok.com
(405) 605-4123

Stillwater
Charles Snyder
csnyder@stillwater.org
(405) 880-7031

Texas

Austin
John Umphress
(512) 482-5303
john.umphress@austinenergy.com

Baytown
Lisa Brown
lisa.brown@baytown.org
(281) 420-5393
cell: (713) 822-0104

Benbrook
Ismael “Izzy” Rivera Jr.
irivera@benbrook-tx.gov
(817) 249-6009
cell: (817) 360-2366

Brenham
Allen Jacobs
ajacobs@cityofbrenham.org
(979) 337-7214
cell: (979) 451-2853

Brownsville
Chris Carroll
chris@carrollsinspectors.com
(956) 544-3139

Canyon
Danny Cornelius
dcornelius@canyontx.com
(806) 655-5014
cell: (806) 671-0302

Dallas
Paul Mattson
paul.mattson@farmersbranchtx.gov
(972) 919-2553

Eagle Pass
Oscar Garza
ogarza@eaglepasstx.us
(830) 773-7781

El Paso
Daniel Chavira
ChaviraD1@elpasotexas.gov
(915) 478-7515

Fort Worth
Johnathan Killebrew
jkillebrew@metrocode.com
(817) 538-3312

Harker Heights
Steven Rinehart
stevenrinehart@hot.rr.com
(254) 690-1186
cell: (254) 289-0204

Houston
Siying Zhang
siying.zhang@us-ecologic.com
(972) 579-2031
cell: (919) 316-0796

Jersey Village
Christian Somers
csomers@ci.jersey-village.tx.us
(713) 466-2106
cell: (281) 960-6113

Katy
James Gee
james@1aers.com
cell: (832) 221-0300

Lewisville
Cleve Joiner
gjoiner@cityoflewisville.com
(972) 219-3471

Marble Falls
Mike Ingalsbe
mingalsbe@ci.marble-falls.tx.us
(830) 798-7087
cell: (830) 637-0865

Midland
Peter Walper
texasenergypros@hotmail.com
cell: (432) 967-4212

Pearland
Kathy McKelvey
kmckelvey@pearlandtx.gov
(281) 652-1761
cell: (979) 219-7951

Pflugerville
Michael Gleason
michaelg2@pflugervilletx.gov
(512) 990-6300

Richardson
Ricky Sandlin
rsandlin@burgess-inc.com
(214) 888-7310
cell: (214) 502-9297

Rosenberg
Kevin Taylor
ktaylor@bbgcode.com
(972) 746-6671

Rosenberg
Gary Fellbaum
ECSGary@gmail.com
(832) 728-9834

San Antonio
Matt Villarreal
mvillarreal@energyinspectors.com
(210) 392-2859

Seguin
Gerald Bodin
gbodin@seguintexas.gov
(830) 660-9142

Sulphur Springs
Mark Hardin
mhardin@sulphurspringstx.org
(908) 885-7541
cell: (903) 689-6379

Tyler
David Morgan
energy.guys@yahoo.com
(903) 617-1997

Waco
David Swatek
dswatek@codespecialist.net
cell: (254) 718-7093

Waco/Bryan/College Station
Kathy Moore
kmoore@infraredsolutions.us
(254) 379-5064

Utah

Cedar
Larry Palmer
plarry@cedarcity.org
(435) 586-2963

Grand County
William “Bill” Hulse
bhulse@grandcountyutah.net

Holden
Matt Ziegler
mdzbldg@yahoo.com

Logan
John Chase
john.chase@loganutah.org
(435) 716-9030

North Ogden
Garry Kerr
jgkerr@nogden.org
(801) 737-2214

Price
Bob Bennett
bobb@priceutah.net
(435) 637-5010

Salt Lake County
Brent Ursenbach
bursenbach@slco.org

Santa Clara County
Corey Bundy
cbundy@sccity.org

University of Utah
Bryan Romney
bryan.romney@fm.utah.edu

West Jordan
William “Bill” Bailey
billb@wjordan.com
(801) 569-5050

Wyoming

Cheyenne
Greg Williams
gwilliams@cheyennecity.org
(307) 637-6351

Tom Scranton
tscranton@cheyennecity.org
(307) 637-6265

Originally published on: 

This page was last modified on: February 22, 2017